All orders of the new album “Shiny Side Up” featuring eleven brilliantly crafted new instrumental tracks by Gayle Ellett & The Electromags are available for a special low price during the pre-sale, as a bonus, all CD pre-orders come with a special gift and a digital sampler download card of various artist.

Gayle Ellett & The Electromags is an exciting new 3-piece rock band. featuring Gayle Ellett (Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Hammond B-3 Organ, Rhodes Electric Piano) Craig Kahn (Drums & Percussion), and Mark Cook (Bass), Gayle Ellett & The Electromags is Instrumental hard-rocking guitar music with a 1970’s vibe. 

Shiny Side Up Tracklist

1. No Deposit, No Return 06:15
2. Highway 27 04:14
3. The Old Canyon Road 05:26
4. Southern Slide 04:48
5. Hardtailed Knucklehead 05:45
6. Donuts & Fishtails 05:18
7. Beyond The Milky Way 01:22
8. Brass Saddles & Steel Trees 02:36
9. Three Way Switch 05:31
10. Crash Bar 05:26
11. Trail Dust 05:10

All music was composed and produced by Gayle Ellett
Album art by Matt Mahurin
Recorded in Topanga, California, and Arlington, Texas

In order to maintain a more lively and dynamic sound, no compression was used in the mixing of this album.

The artwork on the album is by the award-winning artist Matt Mahurin, who has created numerous album covers for groups like Peter Gabriel, U2, Metallica, R.E.M., Tom Waits, Muse, T-Bone Burnett, Soundgarden, Motley Crew, Def Leppard, Scorpions, Joe Satriani, Cher, and many others. And he has also illustrated the cover of TIME Magazine more than 40 times.

East Coast DJ Tom Gagliardi had this to say about the album, “Gayle Ellett & The Electromags have embarked on an eleven-track instrumental journey of old school atmospheres that include a truly analog sound so good….you can smell the ozone charge from those beloved tube amplifiers.”

Band Bio:

Gayle Ellett (Guitar & Keyboards), Gayle has been playing guitar for more than 45 years, he started playing back in 1973. He is a multi-instrumentalist who has performed on over 120 albums, scored music for numerous feature films and 60 different TV series worldwide, and currently plays in 9 bands. One of these bands is Djam Karet, a Progressive Rock group formed in the 1980s that has released 20 albums so far. When he’s not busy recording in the studio, he can often be found wandering the mountain trails near his home in Topanga, California.

Craig Kahn (Drums), Besides playing in The Electromags, Craig is recording drums for the next Kelp Dwellers album, a Surf band he is in with Gayle Ellett and their friend Todd Montgomery (Fernwood). Craig is also involved with a band consisting mostly of pediatric cardiology doctors from around the world, the BBSC, who donate all proceeds from album sales to pediatric health care. Craig spends his free time running in the mountains surrounding his home in Topanga, California.

Mark Cook (Bass), Mark is a multi-instrumentalist based in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. He has recorded and performed with the progressive rock bands Herd of Instinct and Spoke of Shadows, the psychedelic crew Liquid Sound Company, and the art-pop/downtempo unit Nocturne Blue. When not chained to the recording console, Mark spends time wrangling his dogs.

Who is Gayle Ellett & The Electromags?

Ellett, says “I formed this group because of my great love for guitars and the joy I get from playing guitar. I wanted to focus on the style that was popular back in my teenage years: the 1970s. I wanted to spend more time writing melodies and stretching out as a player, pushing myself to improve as a composer and producer, trying my hardest to capture the best tones possible. And luckily, I’m working with Craig Kahn and Mark Cook, who are a great fit for this group. They are super talented, highly motivated, and really easy to work with. Craig is a really talented and aggressive drummer, and Mark is an amazingly creative bass player. Making this album with them has been really fun!”

Located high in the mountains of Topanga, California, this new group is focused on creating instrumental hard- rocking guitar music with a 1970’s vibe. Utilizing a collection of 10 electric guitars and 5 vintage tube amps, their music has a traditional yet modern sound. Except for the occasional wah-wah or phaser, no guitar pedals were used in the creation of this music. Just great guitars plugged straight into classic tube amps … and turned up unbearably loud!

“My #1 goal was to make an album that featured me wailing lots of guitar solos and playing memorable melodies,” adds Ellett. “My other goal was to write really interesting and enjoyable music, surrounding those solos with lots of cool and evolving changes.” He goes on to explain “I’m not trying to re-create the sounds of the ’70s, but I am very inspired by the music of that era. , I started playing electric guitar back in 1973, and albums like Jeff Beck’s Blow By Blow and other Classic Rock records have greatly shaped my tastes in music. That’s why I play in phrases, it’s an older style that was popular back then. I’ve never written Rock songs before, and I’ve never made a ‘Gayle Plays Guitar Solos’ album, so all of this is new to me. And so far, I am really happy with the results!”

The band gets its name from the electromagnetic pickups that are present on all electric guitars. These electromags capture the guitar’s sound and transmit it down a wire to the amplifier. Unique to electric guitars, they are not found on other instruments.

The album’s title “Shiny Side Up” is from the common saying among motorcyclists “Keep the shiny side up!” which means “Have fun riding and don’t crash!”

Master musician Mike Keneally (who has toured the world with Frank Zappa, Steve Vai, Joe Satriani) said of this music “Once again, what a journey! Gorgeous playing and it takes me to places I didn’t expect at the top of the song – appreciate your willingness to wantonly change tempo as you see fit super fun! Yeah, Gayle!”

Currently, the band is finishing up a 5-song digital EP (due to be released next year). And they are also busy recording music for a 2nd full-length album, tentatively titled “Friends”, which will feature many guest musicians from around the world.

Gayle Ellett & The Electromags Online


PeacockSunrise Records Online